Hazardous zone locations, Class/Division vs Zone system

Hazardous zone

Hazardous zone locations are classified according to the nature of flammable materials present in the atmosphere. In some locations such compounds can be present for a short duration while in other places they are found continuously. The two main systems used to classify hazardous location are class/division system used in the USA & Canada and Zone system used by other countries.

Although, both of these systems are reliable and were developed to give protection, they use a different approach in classifying hazardous zone locations. This does not necessarily mean that one system is better than another; each one has its own metrics and depends on user location. Presently zone system is widely used throughout the world, depending upon the nature of environment the usage and preferences can vary.

Continue reading “Hazardous zone locations, Class/Division vs Zone system”

What are hazardous area certifications?

hazardous area

Industrial process performed under presence of dangerous and explosive gases, combustible dusts, flammable liquid or any other similar sources should use electrical equipment’s with proper protection technique. To ensure that installed equipment’s are designed and tested to provide necessary protection, third party bodies or agencies certify that the specific equipment’s meet all requirements to perform in a hazardous area/location.

Continue reading “What are hazardous area certifications?”

Basics of hazardous area classification and protection methods

hazardous area classification
Hazardous locations are places that contains or are expected to contain sufficient quantities of flammable liquids, gases, vapor or combustible dusts to produce an explosion or fire. Industries like oil&gas, plant floor, chemical, refineries, and many others require explosion protected equipment.

Presently there are two systems that classify hazardous areas, the class division system (used in the United States and Canada) and the zone system based on the international electrochemical commission (IEC) and European Committee for Electrochemical Standardization

Continue reading “Basics of hazardous area classification and protection methods”

Class 1 Division 2 Hazardous Zone Touch Panel Computer

Arista Class 1 Division 2 Hazardous Zone Touch Panel Computer TPC

Class 1 Division 2 Hazardous Zone Touch Panel Computer TPC

Powered by Intel i7 CPU

Arista offers a wide range of display sizes for panel mount touch panel computers (TPC). The ARP-2200AP-G00 Series was designed for use in environments where the existence of flammable gases or vapors and/or combustible dust may be present in the air during abnormal occurrences such as a spill or a leak and to prevent ignition of flammable substances like gases, vapors and liquids that are present within Class 1 Division 2 hazardous zone touch panel computer TPC applications.

Continue reading “Class 1 Division 2 Hazardous Zone Touch Panel Computer”